The Mission of Write Out Loud is to inspire, challenge and entertain by reading literature aloud to audiences of all ages.

Our History

Write Out Loud was born from a love literature and our desire to share that passion with the community. The first Story Concert, Something New, was produced June 29, 2007 at North Coast Repertory Theatre, in association with Tonic Productions, and made possible by Amy Biedel. The first season, opening with A Screw Askew in October that year, was made possible by the generosity of Cygnet Theatre Company. Our holiday program that December, Giving Season, was designed for families featured readers from age 13 to 80 years and audience members as young as eight. Audiences were growing and it appeared that WOL was a success.

Write Out Loud’s second season (2008-09) kicked off with an all-Twain program, Ever the Twain Shall Meet, which became the seed that inspired TwainFest, first produced in 2010. Educational programs began in 2011 with our first NEA BIG. READ – Read Imagine Create. Stories for Seniors (2012), StoryBox (Kamishibai) for young children (2013), Poetry Out Loud (2014), Ripples From Walden Pond (2017), PoeFest (2018), co-producing San Diego Student Shakespeare Festival (2019), World Kamishibai Forum and Listen To This (2020), have all since become part of WOL’s regular programming.

Board of Directors


Board President

About Linda

Linda Spuck – Principal, Linda Spuck Consulting. Formerly Vice President/Senior Trust Officer at Union Bank. Past President, Junior League of San Diego. A.B. – Music, Occidental College.


Board Secretary

About Barbara

Dr. Barbara Broderick is a fundraising professional specializing in grant writing and program development. Doctorate San Diego State University.


Board Treasurer

About Ross

Ross Porter is the Executive Director of Spreckels Organ Society. A third-generation native of San Diego, his career in marketing has included promotion of cross-border relations, clean air and lung health, and San Diego’s hard-working non-profit sector. As one who appreciates the performing arts “from the secure darkness of the audience,” he is familiar with the challenges of leading and running non-profit cultural organizations. BA Yale University.


Board Member

About James

James Pascarella is a Clinical Laboratory Scientist, Technical Coordinator in Chemistry and Hematology Scripps Mercy Medical Center Retired. BA University of California San Diego (Revelle). Currently magician, Dr. Zoolittle and Santa Claus at San Diego Zoo.


Board Member

About Christopher

Christopher Redo, MBA, CFRE is Senior Philanthropic Advisor for the National Foundation of the Boy Scouts of America. BA/MBA University of San Diego.


Executive Director, Co-Founder
and Board Member

About Walter

Walter Ritter, International Manufacturing, Retired.
BFA Theatre Arts, United States International University.


Board Member

About Lynne

Dr. Lynne Thrope, Clinical Reading Therapist, Founder of The Reading Room in La Mesa, CA, Specialist in Bibliotherapy, Ph.D. Claremont Graduate University, Honored by the International Literacy Association with the “Celebrate Literacy Award” for exemplary service in the promotion of literacy.

Co-Founders & Directors


Executive Director, Co-Founder

About Walter

Walter Ritter is an actor, singer, narrator, and kamishibai storyteller whose background includes 27 years as a business owner/manager. He has performed extensively throughout the San Diego region.


Artistic Director, Co-Founder

About Veronica

Veronica Murphy has been performing on San Diego area stages for over 20 years. Her work with local companies includes Cygnet Theatre Company, Ion Theatre Company, Lamb’s Players Theatre, Lynx Performance, North Coast Repertory Theatre, Pam Turner Dance and Tonic Productions.

Veronica’s recordings of audio books for children are available at hovelaudio.com.


Education Coordinator

About Rachael

An Actor, Teaching Artist, and Arts Education Administrator, Rachael manages Write Out Loud’s Education Department, directs and performs. She has also appeared at Cygnet Theatre, Diversionary Theatre, San Diego Rep, and others. Directing credits include The Laramie Project, The Secret Garden, Yo Vikings! and most recently, La Llorona for PoeFest.

Her Arts Education work includes positions for The Playwrights Project, Arts for Learning San Diego, and Canyon Crest Academy.

As a playwright, she has had plays produced by the Fritz Theatre, Playwrights Project, as well as several self-produced workshops and readings. She was the recipient of the Bill and Judy Garret Finish Line Commission at Cygnet Theatre in 2016.

Literary Advisors



Associate Artists

Allison Pearce

Andrew Oswald

Brian Mackey

Brittney Caldwell

Caitie Grady

David Fenner

Cynthia Gerber

Charles Evans Jr.

Eric Minella

Jason Heil

Julia Giozetti

Linda Libby

Monique Gaffney

Paul Maley

Rachael Van Wormer

Mark Daniszovsky

Ron Choulartan

Sandra Ruiz

Steve Smith

Steven Lone

Susan Clausen

Tim West